Tirunelveli Dakshina Mara Nadar Sangam College in Sindupoondurai,Tirunelveli Dakshina Mara Nadar Sangam College in Tirunelveli, Tirunelveli Dakshina Mara Nadar Sangam College in T. Kallikulam

Our History


The Dakshina Mara NadarSangam, Sindupoondurai, Tirunelveli, ever since its inception has had the promotion of education as one of its main objectives. For many years it has been helping poor students with loan scholarships. Further, it has been giving donations to certain private colleges in Tirunelveli District and then, deciding to open a College of its own and true to its principles of rendering service where it is most needed, the Sangam chose to start a College in the erstwhile NanguneriTaluk, which till then had the unique distinction of being one of the Taluks in the District without a College. The outcome is the TirunelveliDakshina Mara NadarSangam College at T. Kallikulam.

The College

The college is located in the vast site donated by the people of T.Kallikulam. The first building was declared open by the then Honourable Minister Si. Pa. Adithanar on the 5th July 1971, the day on which the college started functioning. Later, the management constructed three more blocks at different times. Two waiting halls for girls were also constructed.

The college, which was started as an approved college in July 1971, with just 100 students and 10 teachers, has been showing a steady growth. Now it is a full-fleged first grade college, affiliated to Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, with three Post Graduate Courses, eleven Under Graduate Courses, one Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Applications (PGDCA), two M.Phil. courses and five career oriented courses.


PicThiru D.R. Sabapathy Nadar, a faithful follower of Bharath Ratna Perunthalaivar KAMARAJ and a trusted supporter of Pazha Nedumaran, leader of Tamil Nadu Desia Iyakkam, is the Presidentof the Educational Agency and also the College Committee. He assured charge as a President on 12th December 2012. Earlier, from 1989 to 1992 he served as the Executive member of the Educational agency and from 1992 to 2000 he served as the Vice-President of the Educational agency and also as the member of the College Committee. For a brief period in 2000 he served as the President-in-charge of the Educational agency, in 2001 Tghiru D.R. Sabapathy Nadar assumed charge as the Secretary in an exemplary manner till April 2008. The College witnessed tremendous academic and infrastructural growth in this period. It was during his tenure as Secretary, a life-size bronze statue of Bharath Ratna Perunthalaivar KAMARAJ was installed in the college campus as a part of the latter’s centenary celebrations. His tenure as Secretary was also historic as our college was accredited by NAAC with B+ grade. Now under his dynamic leadership as President, our college has again begun to scale new heights.


PicThiru. R. Shunmugavel Nadar is the Secretary of the Educational Agency and also the College. He assumed charge as the Secretary on 12.12.2012. Earlier, from 1993 to 2008 he served as the Administrative Council Member of the Educational Agency and also as a Member of the College Committee. He hails from Muthumuthanmozhi a small hamlet and is a landlord and hardworking agriculturists. In him one can see a young and vibrant personality. Our College is poised for rapid growth under the dynamic stewardship of our Secretary, Thiru. R. Shunmugavel Nadar.

The Principal

PicDr.R. Pon Murugan is the Principal of the College. Starting his career as Assistant Professor in the Department of Commerce on 02.01.1984 raised to its height as Principal in the same institution on 03.06.2016. He is known for simplicity and honesty. He is a senior academician in Commerce in Manonmaniam Sundaranar University. The research career of him made known prominence in the southern districts of Tamil Nadu in Commerce. He is versatile with different application software including SPSS. The rich experience he gained in the college as teacher made him as ideal teacher feeding students towards the attainment of the goals of the institution. In 2005, he served as the NAAC Steering Committee Convenor. In association with a good team teacher he worked hard in attaining B+ grade to the institution. He had a long history over 32 years to work in the institution with all former Principals Thiru T. Paulsamy, Thiru P. Nadesan, Dr. E. John Jothi Prakash and Dr.K. Pazhani. He is a hard task master in getting better result from his followers for making the institution into a destiny of learning.

Back to top